Nominations open for 12th annual Franklin Tomorrow Exemplary Community Volunteer Awards

//Nominations open for 12th annual Franklin Tomorrow Exemplary Community Volunteer Awards

Nominations open for 12th annual Franklin Tomorrow Exemplary Community Volunteer Awards

Williamson County is blessed with individuals of all ages and companies and groups of all sizes who give unselfishly of themselves to make our community a better place. Consider nominating them for one of many awards given as part of Franklin Tomorrow’s 12th annual Exemplary Community Volunteer Awards.

The ceremony will be held Wednesday, July 25, at Franklin Theatre, but the nomination deadline is Friday, June 15. It is super easy this year to complete a nomination through our online form, which can be found at this link. To request a complete nomination packet and form, send an email to

Awards are presented in a variety of categories to individuals, businesses and civic groups. In 2017, Former longtime Williamson County Commissioner and volunteer Judy Grigsby Hayes was named the recipient of the Anne T. Rutherford Exemplary Community Volunteer Award to recognize decades of work for nonprofit organizations in the county. That award is named to honor the decades of service and tremendous impact of Anne T. Rutherford, a founding member of Franklin Tomorrow and an active volunteer for many community organizations. One award is given annually.

The Volunteer Spirit and the Youth Initiative Awards were created to allow more people to be honored for selflessly supporting local non-profit organizations or agencies. Recipients undertake projects large and small, such as the 2017 Youth Initiative Award winner Threads of Care, a youth initiative to collect clothing for teens in need, spearheaded by Zach Wolfson and other teens.

Sharing the Civic Group Award in 2017 were CrossPoint Church of Franklin, nominated by WAVES Inc.; and VITA tax preparation, nominated by United Way of Williamson County.

The 2017 Corporate Team Award went to APCOM Inc., nominated by Brightstone, and Carbine & Associates, for its work on the House for Hope Designer Show House. The Corporate Volunteer Award Brian Evans of Tractor Supply, based on a nomination from United Way of Williamson County. Franklin Tomorrow also presents a Business Legacy Award, which in 2017 went to local attorney and philanthropist Julian Bibb Sr. Additional awards may be created by the Board of Franklin Tomorrow to recognize significant achievement.

Partners are needed to sponsor the awards, which include a $500 grant to the winner’s non-profit of choice for the Anne T. Rutherford Award, while a $250 grant accompanies the other awards. Thanks to Jackson National Life for underwriting the costs of the Franklin Theatre and to Williamson Medical Center, Franklin Lions Club, and the Franklin Rotary Club for their support, as well.

For more information or questions, please contact Executive Director Mindy Tate or Operations Administrator Carmen Stanek at (615) 794-0998.


By | 2018-04-06T16:10:28-05:00 April 6th, 2018|News|0 Comments

About the Author:

Leave A Comment