Exemplary Community Volunteer Awards

/Exemplary Community Volunteer Awards
Loading Events

Exemplary Community Volunteer Awards

November 17, 2020 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Bios of the Nominees for the 14th Annual Exemplary Community Volunteer Awards

Below you will find all the bios of the nominees for the 14th Annual Exemplary Community Volunteers, presented by Grange and USI, broken down by category.


Corporate Volunteerism Award:

Corporate Volunteerism Bios


Youth Initiative Award:

Youth Initiative Bio


Emerging Leader Award:

Emerging Leader Bios


Neighbor To Neighbor Award:

Neighbor To Neighbor Bios


Volunteer Spirit Award:

Volunteer Spirit Bios

Franklin Tomorrow announces In Memoriam honorees as part of 2020 Exemplary Community Volunteer Awards

Nov. 17, 2020 — Franklin Tomorrow has been including an in memoriam section in the Exemplary Community Volunteer Awards program for the last three years, with hopes of recognizing individuals who forged paths others have followed as an example to their own form of servanthood. This year was definitely a challenging year for this section.

We lost so many great community leaders and citizens in the last year from July 2019 through early September 2020. Below are the obituaries of the individuals included in the 2020 Franklin Tomorrow Exemplary Community Volunteer Awards In Memoriam section.

The more than 60 people that we are honoring during this segment exemplified the varied acts of service and kindness that make Williamson County such a great place to call home. There are many more who could have been included, but we offer these as a sampling. As Elvis Presley is reported to have said, “Do something worth remembering.” We think they did.

In conjunction with Williamson Memorial Funeral Home and Friends of Franklin Parks, a memorial paver will be placed at the entrance to the arena at the Park at Harlinsdale with the names of each of this year’s honorees.

Ann Arnold Goodridge

Ann Herbert Floyd

Barbara Jean Knight

Bill Whitson

Bob Steltjes

Bobby Gentry

Boyce Magli

Bubba McMillen

Charles Dibrell Sr.

Charles Halter

Clayton Beathard

Danny Dean Chambers

Destin Scott Legeiza

Donald Carnes Jr.

Dorothy Lane Tyson

Earline Billingsley

Eddy Woodard

Evan Snider

Frances Ann Morgan

Grant Solomon

Harold Brewer

Homer Hill

Dr. James Garfield Townsel

Jean Dicie

Joe Diffie

John Hardaway

John M Green Jr.

John Oden Sr.

Judy Laudebache

Laura Lucille _Sweet_ Alexander

Leslie Latimer Bilbrey

Lewis Bill Green III

Lexie Jean Waggener

Libby Marley

Lois Hall

Lyn Sullivan Pewitt

Mary Ellen Stevens

Michael Dale Moody

Michael Saint

Mitchell Earwood

Pam Dugger

Paul D Trapeni III

Paul O Gaddis

Ralph Walker

Richard Verbosky

Rob McArthur

Robert Burns

Robert Thomas Coughlin

Sage Warren

Sandra Moody Sullivan

Sgt Paul Arnold

Shotgun Andrews

Stan Stacey

Stuart Alan Mays

Sue Oden

Thomas Red Hazelwood

Tim Harsha

Todd Hardy

Tom McAdams

Ty Osman Sr

Victor Vanden Oever

Zelda Carson

PowerPoint is available below:

In Memoriam PowerPoint


Williamson County is blessed with individuals of all ages and companies and groups of all sizes who give unselfishly of themselves to make our community a better place. Consider nominating them for one of many awards given as part of Franklin Tomorrow’s 14th annual Exemplary Community Volunteer Awards.

The ceremony will be held Tuesday, November 17 at Rolling Hills Community Church. The event will be a virtual event and will be live streamed on Franklin Tomorrow’s Facebook page, YouTube channel and website. The nomination deadline is Thursday, October 15, 2020. Additional information can be found in the online nomination form available below. To request a complete nomination packet and form, send an email to carly@franklintomorrow.org.

“In this year of unprecedented challenges Franklin Tomorrow is so excited to be able to honor the amazing volunteers that have shown us that even in times of hardships, the Franklin community has so many gracious individuals that are here to help others,” Franklin Tomorrow Executive Director Mindy Tate said.

Awards are presented in a variety of categories to individuals, businesses and civic groups, with one new award this year. Being added this year is the Neighbor To Neighbor Award, which will be given to an individual or organization that has shown extreme generosity to its neighbors and has exceeded expectation in terms of giving back to the community.

“USI and Grange Insurance are thrilled to be the presenting partners for this year’s Volunteer Awards,” USI Vice President Patrick Baggett said. “We are looking forward to showcasing the great volunteers that call Franklin home and appreciate the community for continuing to show its volunteer spirit throughout a difficult year.

USI and Grange Insurance are the generous partners in presenting the Volunteer Awards. For more information on being a partner, email mindy@franklintomorrow.org.


Downloadable 2020 Volunteer Awards Packet:

2020 Volunteer Awards Nomination Packet

In addition to the filled out form, please include:
•A one-page statement describing the service of the nominee(s), including how many hours of volunteer time the nominee(s) have logged in 2020 and the value of the nominee(s) volunteerism. Nominations will not be accepted without this. • Digital photo of your nominee(s) for event promotion is REQUIRED.


November 17, 2020
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm


TN United States


Franklin Tomorrow


« All Events