Loading Events

Exemplary Community Volunteer Awards

July 25 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm



Nominate a STAR!

The Awards

In 2007, Franklin Tomorrow established the Anne T. Rutherford Exemplary Community Volunteer Award to honor the decades of service and tremendous impact that Mrs. Rutherford has in Franklin, Tennessee. In the following years, the Awards grew to include Volunteer Spirit Awards and the Youth Initiative Award. We are honored to celebrate the lives of those in our community who give selflessly to support and encourage in our local organizations. Thanks to the generous support of our sponsors, a cash contribution will be made on behalf of each award recipient to the non-profit of their choice.

At 5:30pm a cocktail hour will precede the awards ceremony. Additionally, a post party with champagne and desserts will follow the awards ceremony. More information to come soon!

Anne T. Rutherford

Anne T. Rutherford is a longtime Franklin resident, whose volunteer spirit has aided numerous organizations, including Franklin Tomorrow, United Way, and the Historic Carnton Plantation. The Anne T. Rutherford Exemplary Community Volunteer Award was created by Franklin Tomorrow to honor her commitment to our community and celebrate her legacy of service.

Franklin Tomorrow

Franklin Tomorrow is a community-wide effort to engage the community, foster collaboration and advocate for a shared vision for the future of Franklin. Franklin Tomorrow began in 2000 as an outgrowth of Leadership Franklin and the continuing effort to identify needs in our community. Our strategy groups are constantly evolving to reflect today’s challenges and form a vibrant Franklin Tomorrow. We are a non- profit, 501c(3) organization focused on communicating the shared vision through focus, education, advocacy and accountability.

12th Annual Exemplary Community Volunteer Awards

Information will be sent in July and reservations will be required prior to the event. One complimentary ticket to the Volunteer Awards event is available to each of the finalists, allowing them to attend. Finalists will be named in early July. Additional tickets for guests may be purchased in advance through the Franklin Theatre Box Office. There will be no reserved seating. RSVP is required for all Volunteer Awards nominees.

Nomination Tips

Here are some tips to writing nominations that really stand out and reflect the true commitment of your nominees. Remember that you may know your volunteer really well, but the one-page description you submit is how the Awards Committee gets to know your nominee.

     Include compelling examples and/or stories of the nominee’s volunteer service with the agency and/or clients.

     Describe how the nominee stands apart from all the rest.

     Cite any special challenges the nominee has overcome.

     Discuss the impact of the nominee’s service on the overall work of the agency or organization.

Taking the time to write a thorough nomination could provide a wonderful, lifetime memory for your volunteer or organization.

Nominate a STAR!


Deserving volunteers may be nominated by any community member or staff person. Nominees must be actively volunteering at one or more organizations in Franklin/Williamson County.  If the nominator is not with the volunteer agency of the nominee, please provide contact information for the agency. Please note that some are not eligible for participation, including past award recipients, individuals involved in “court mandated community service” or those receiving compensation for service rendered.

Nomination Process

Multiple nominations may be submitted in each category, however, only one nomination per agency will be eligible for the finalist in each category. An exception is made for umbrella agencies with multiple site locations that operate independently. Each independent site may submit nominations. This exception does not apply to multiple programs or departments within one agency.

Nominations must be accompanied by a Nomination Form, a one-page statement, and a photo of the nominee. The one-page statement is very important as it introduces our Awards Committee to the nominees. Nominations submitted without the one-page statement will not be included in the Awards selection process. A photo is also required (digital photos are highly preferred.). The photo will be used to recognize the winners as well as allow the Awards Committee to get to know the nominees more personally.

The deadline for submitting nominations is end of business on Friday, June 15, 2018. Nominating persons will receive an email confirmation within three business days of submitting nominations. If you do not receive a confirmation, please contact Franklin Tomorrow at (615) 794-0998 or admin@franklintomorrow.org

Selection Process

The Awards Committee will be responsible for screening and selecting the finalists in each award category. The Awards committee is made up of community volunteers, volunteer administrators, business leaders and civic leaders.

 Finalists Notification

Finalists and their nominators are notified no later than early July. Phone calls will be made to all finalists. Emails will follow to the finalists and their nominators. Names of the award recipients are kept confidential until the presentation at Volunteer Awards on July 25, 2018 at the Franklin Theatre.  Advance tickets are required for the event.


Anne T. Rutherford Exemplary Community Volunteer Award

Individuals eligible for this award are involved in a variety of community activities. The collective effect of their work has impact on the agencies themselves and the community at large. Consideration is given to each nominee’s variety of work and overall impact. One award is given in this category annually. We look for a heart for service and a dedication to the community at large.

Volunteer Spirit Awards

Individuals eligible for these awards are involved either in a variety of community activities or primarily in one organization as a significant volunteer. The effect of their work, either collectively in the community or primarily in one organization, has a profound impact. This individual stands out as altering the environment around them simply by their service and heart for their community. Three awards are given in this category annually.

Youth Initiative Award

Individuals eligible for this award are under the age of 21 and are involved either in a variety of community activities or primarily in one organization as a significant volunteer. The effect of their work, either collectively in the community or primarily in one organization, has a profound impact. This individual stands out as setting a standard of service for the youth in our community. 

Civic Group Award will honor representatives of civic, membership, congregation or non-corporate groups that volunteer together for a cause.

Corporate Team Award will recognize companies that see the value of giving back to their community through successful volunteer programs with high levels of participation and impact.

Corporate Volunteer Achievement Award will recognize an individual who, as part of a company-sponsored volunteer program or event, has made a significant contribution to one or more organizations.


July 25
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm


Franklin Tomorrow


The Franklin Theatre
419 Main Street
Franklin, TN 37064 United States
+ Google Map


« All Events