The call for nominations for Franklin Tomorrow’s annual Anne T. Rutherford Exemplary Community Volunteer Awards has been extended until May 21.

The awards are presented annually during Franklin Tomorrow’s Shrimp Boil, set this year for July 14 at the Eastern Flank Battlefield Park. CapWealth Advisors, LLC, is the presenting sponsor for the Shrimp Boil, while FirstBank is underwriting the cash awards which accompany each of the awards.

“Both companies have been very generous in their support of this event, but also in allowing us to make more meaningful awards to the non-profits who will be represented by the winners of the Anne T. Rutherford Awards,” said Kathie Moore, Franklin Tomorrow president.

In 2007, Franklin Tomorrow established the Anne T. Rutherford Exemplary Community Volunteer Award to honor the decades of service and tremendous impact that Ms. Rutherford has in Franklin. A longtime Franklin resident, her volunteer spirit has aided numerous organizations, from Franklin Tomorrow to United Way to Historic Carnton Plantation.

The awards have grown to include Volunteer Spirit Awards and the Youth Initiative Award, as well as other awards designated by the Board of Directors of Franklin Tomorrow. The top three candidates for each award are announced in June. The winners are announced the night of the Shrimp Boil, being presented this year by CapWealth Advisors, LLC, with Turner Construction Co., serving as the Platinum sponsor.

To download the application form, Volunteer Awards nomination packet 2012.