Important state House, county & FSSD
Board of Education seats on Aug. 2 ballot
Early voting starts Friday at five locations
First of all, did you know there is an election on Aug. 2? The ballot includes races for seats on the Franklin Special School District Board of Education and the Williamson County Board of Education in the the odd-numbered districts.
Also on the ballot on Aug. 2 is the Republican primary for the three seats from Williamson County in the  Tennessee House of Representatives. 63rd District state Rep. Glen Casada faces no opposition, while his fellow incumbent in the House, state Rep. Charles Sargent from the 61st District, faces opposition from Rob Hathaway.
Three men are vying to become the first to represent the newly created 65th District, which includes significant portions of Franklin as well as dips into southern Williamson County and parts of Spring Hill.
Dennis Kiser of Spring Hill, Jeremy Durham of Franklin and Kenny Young of Franklin have all thrown their hats into the ring in this race.
In the race for three seats on the Franklin Special District Board of Education, incumbents Robert Blair and Melanie Hembree are on the ballot with challengers Alicia Spencer Barker, Jane Ebb McClure, Kevin G. Townsel, and Preston Elliott. The top three vote getters will be elected. Incumbent Kent McNish chose not to seek re-election.
Reapportionment of the County’s voting districts had an impact on the Williamson County Board of Education as at least one incumbent — District 3 member Janine Moore — ineligible to seek reelection after final district lines were drawn.
There are six races on the ballot for the Williamson County Board of Education. In District 1, Eddie Creech and Kenneth Peterson are facing off, while in District 3, PJ Mezera is running unopposed as is incumbent District 5 rep Gary Anderson.
In District 7, Robert Hullett and Brian Randolph are facing off for that seat where incumbent Susan Graham is not seeking reelection, while in District 9, incumbent Rick Wimberly is unopposed, as is District 11 rep Mark Gregory, on the ballot.
The results of the 2010 census are now coming to light as the county has finished its redistricting based on population so every registered voter in the county should receive a new voter registration card no later than July 1, according to a recent article in the Williamson Herald.
Voting precincts have also been realigned and you can see that list by following this link.
The last day to register to vote in the Aug. 2 elections was July 3. Early voting will be held July 13-28.
Early voting is open to any registered voter in the county. Any registered voter may vote at any one of the five (5) early voting sites within the county regardless of their precinct of registration. When voting in a primary election in the State of Tennessee the voter must declare a political party preference in order to vote in the primary (T.C.A. § 2‐7‐115 et seq.)
The locations and hours are:
• Williamson County Administrative Complex (Election Commission), 1320 W. Main St., Franklin, TN 37064  When: July 13‐July 28/ Hours : 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday‐Friday/Saturdays: 8 a.m. to noon (July 14, July 21 & July 28)/(Extended office hours: July 23‐27, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Weekdays)
• Brentwood High School, 5304 Murray Lane, Brentwood, TN 37027  When: July 23‐July 28, 2012 / Hours : 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Weekdays/Saturday: July 28: 8 a.m. to noon.
• Fairview Recreation Center, 2714 Fairview Blvd., Fairview, TN 37062  When: July 23‐July 28 / Hours : 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Weekdays / Saturday: July 28: 8 a.m. to noon.
• Nolensville Town Hall, 7218 Nolensville Road, Nolensville, TN 37135  When: July 23‐July 28 / Hours : 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Weekdays / Saturday: July 28: 8 a.m. to noon
  • Longview Recreation Center, 2909 Commonwealth Drive, Spring Hill, TN 37174 (Located off Duplex Road approximately one mile from Columbia Pike) When: July 23‐July 28 / Hours : 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Weekdays / Saturday: July 28: 8 a.m. to noon.