To help educate voters about the issues and acquaint them with the candidates, several community organizations are coming together on Monday, Oct. 2, to host a Candidates’ Forum.

The program will be held at Franklin City Hall, 5:30-8 p.m., and all candidates on the ballot are invited to participate in this event being presented by Franklin Tomorrow, Williamson Inc., Williamson County Association of REALTORS, and the League of Women Voters of Williamson County. Area media, including Williamson Herald, The Tennessean, and WAKM-AM 950 Radio, are also involved as partners or plan to cover the event.

Each candidate will be offered the chance to deliver a one-minute opening statement. The candidates in contested races will each answer individual questions which have been prepared by the presenting organizations, but which are randomly selected throughout the program. There will be no advance knowledge of the questions by the candidates.

Early voting in the election will open on Wednesday, Oct. 4, and continue through Wednesday, Oct. 19, at the Williamson County Election Commission office, 405 Downs Blvd., Franklin, TN 37064. The last day to register to vote in the City election will be Monday, September 25.

Incumbent Mayor Dr. Ken Moore is being challenged by At-Large Alderman Gabrielle Hanson for his seat. Incumbent At-Large Alderman Brandy Blanton faces a challenge from Gary Moore, while incumbent Ann Petersen faces a challenge from Jeff Feldman. Vying for Hanson’s aldermanic seat are Greg Caesar, Patrick George, and B.K. Muvvala.

Voters will get to cast votes in the mayoral race and in each of the four at-large aldermanic races.

Be sure and pick up one of four locally designed “I Voted” stickers chosen by online voters in a contest sponsored by Franklin Tomorrow, Williamson County Election Commission, and the City of Franklin Public Arts Commission.

Two adult entries and two youth entries were selected in online voting by more than 500 voters.

Early voting in the Franklin City Election will be held at the offices of the Williamson County Election Commission, 405  Downs Blvd., Franklin, TN. Weekday hours Oct. 4-19 are from 8 a.m.-6 p.m. and on Saturday, Oct. 7 and Oct. 14, early voting will be held from 8 a.m. until noon.

On Election Day, Oct. 24, voters may cast their ballots at any of the following locations from 7 a.m.-7 p.m.

  • Cool Springs Conference Center, 700 Cool Springs Blvd.
  • Hunters Bend Elementary, 2121 Fieldstone Pkwy.
  • Pearre Creek Elementary, 1811 Townsend Blvd.
  • First Presbyterian Church, 101 Legends Club Lane
  • County Enrichment Center, 110 Everbright Ave.
  • The Church of the City, 828 Murfreesboro Road
  • The Gate Community Church, 4040 Murfreesboro Road
  • Legacy Middle School, 2380 Henpeck Lane