The 1oth annual Franklin Tomorrow Exemplary Community Volunteer Awards are set for Aug. 17 at the Franklin Theatre and the wide array of nominees shows that many people in our community are doing good works, either as individuals or part of a group, and few seek recognition.

Untitled-1The event will begin at 7 p.m. following a 5:30 p.m. reception at First Bank at Five Points for nominees, their families and ticketholders to the event.

Almost 20 different organizations and volunteers supporting them are nominated in the Volunteer Spirit Award category, of which three winners will be named during the event.

Nominees for the Volunteer Spirit Awards include: Alison Kirk, High Hopes; Ann Bright, Pro Health Medical Services; Ashlyn Hines Meneguzzi, O’More College of Design, Barbara Griffy, Graceworks Ministries; Cyril Stewart, Heritage Foundation; Dan & Rachel Williamson, Franklin First United Methodist Room In The Inn; Dave Crouch, Williamson Inc.; Diane Giddens, WAVES Inc. and Williamson County Fair; Donna Choate, Graceworks Ministries; J. Edward & Brenda Tuck Campbell, Heritage Foundation and other agencies; Jim & Jackie Woodard, Big Brothers Big Sisters; John Kimball, Boy Scouts of America, Middle Tennessee Council; Karen & Tim Costello, Graceworks Ministries; Kathie Moore, Franklin Tomorrow and Williamson County Association of Realtors; Paula Harris, Leadership Franklin and Williamson Inc.; Rick Jansen, United Way of Williamson County; Shannon Seiler, Mid-Cumberland Meals on Wheels; and Sharon Bottorff, Sister Cities of Franklin & Williamson County.

Individuals eligible for these awards are involved either in a variety of community activities or primarily in one organization as a significant volunteer. The effect of their work, either collectively in the community or primarily in one organization, has a profound impact. This individual stands out as altering the environment around them simply by their service and heart for their community.

It is from this category also that the recipient of the night’s top volunteer award, the Anne T. Rutherford Exemplary Community Volunteer Award, is chosen.

Individuals eligible for this award are involved in a variety of community activities. The collective effect of their work has impact on the agencies themselves and the community at large. Consideration is given to each nominee’s variety of work and overall impact.

Only one award is given annually and will be presented by Anne Rutherford herself, along with Franklin Tomorrow President Tim Murphy.

For the third year, Franklin Tomorrow will present the Legacy Award, a continuation of the Business Legends Award previously presented by the Williamson County-Franklin Chamber of Commerce. This award will recognize an individual or individuals who have made significant impact in the areas of business, quality of life, and leadership.

Awards also to be presented will recognize Civic Groups, Corporate Volunteer Teams, as well as Individual Corporate volunteers. Also being presented will be the Volunteer Spirit and Youth Initiative Awards, and the Ned Lea Lifetime Achievement Award, this year bestowed upon the late Roy Barker.

The Ned Lea Lifetime Achievement Award is presented posthumously to recognize individuals who have had a significant impact for one organization or on their community through their life. They exemplify a heart of service and a dedication to the community at large.

Tickets are available through the Franklin Theatre at Making the event possible as Platinum Partners are FirstBank, Williamson Medical Center, and Vanderbilt University’s Office of Community, Neighborhood and Government Relations. Acting as partners are Buerger Moseley Carson, PARKS Realty, and Franklin Rotary at Breakfast.

Patron supporters for the event are The TMA Group and Signs First. Supporters are 61st District State Rep. Charles Sargent; 63rd District State Rep. Glen Casada; 23rd District State Sen. Jack Johnson; Ernie & Nell Bacon; Benchmark Realty; Deana Hood, Attorney at Law;, The BBB Integrity Foundation; District Attorney General Kim Helper; and Ryan Search & Consulting.

Franklin Tomorrow is the community visioning nonprofit which seeks to engage the community, foster collaboration, and advocate for a shared vision for the future of Franklin. That shared vision includes a vibrant economy, distinct character, robust neighborhoods, and great people.